An Inside Look at South Korea’s Covid-19 Warning System

How one nation keeps everyone safe and informed when cases rise

Benjamin Davis
Elemental
Published in
7 min readDec 3, 2020

--

People shop in the Mangwon district on March 12, 2020, in Seoul, South Korea. Photo: Woohae Cho/Stringer/Getty Images

A few weeks ago, a colleague came into my office and announced, “Damn, it looks like things are starting to get bad again.” He turned his phone toward me. It was opened to Worldometer’s Covid-19 tracking page. I scrolled down to select the country we live in: South Korea. “How many days has it been going up?” I asked. “It was 303 then 343 and 363 cases today. They’ve just increased the alert level to 1.5.”

That night, I stopped at the grocery store on the way home to pick up some extra food. If cases keep rising, I know restaurants will likely start reverting to takeout orders only and closing earlier. My weekend appeared likely to be an isolated one.

At home, I turned on the news in America. I listened to an interview with a crying nurse. She was crying because the number of cases in America had risen exponentially, and, on her drive home after spending her day watching people die from the virus, she passed bar after bar packed with maskless people. She was talking about how helpless she felt, desperate for people to understand the severity and horror she was experiencing every day.

--

--