Could a Tiny Mint Kick My Sugar Cravings?

An ‘addict’ seeks help from a new 14-day system

Joel Stein
Elemental

--

Credit: Malte Mueller/Getty Images

II used to see personal trainer Harley Pasternak at a coffee shop in Los Angeles, where he always performed a magic trick. He bought a chocolate chip cookie, ate half, and threw the rest away. It was a feat of willpower I could only aspire to. One day, I thought, I will traipse the globe rationing a perfect amount of pleasure with a half of a croissant in Paris, a half of a slice of Linzer torte in Vienna, a half of a churro in Mexico City.

“You were seeing a snapshot of my day. Not the whole picture,” says Pasternak, who is the trainer on Khloé Kardashian’s E! show, Revenge Body, and has trained Gwyneth Paltrow, Lady Gaga, Kim Kardashian, and Ariana Grande. “I was getting three or four cookies a day. It was the greatest denial of all time. I would get coffee. I’m sure they make good coffee. But they made the best chocolate chip cookies in town. It gave me this happiness. This childlike I-have-a-fresh-baked-cookie happiness.” This is a guy who would never put a sugar packet in his coffee. Who cautions against eating types of fruit in which you can’t eat the skin.

Pasternak got to work on creating a way to help people like him, and me, combat our sugar cravings. His first product is the Sweetkick 14-Day Sugar Reset Kit, which costs $46 and comes…

--

--

Joel Stein
Elemental

Joel Stein’s In Defense of Elitism: Why I’m Better Than You and You’re Better Than Someone Who Didn’t Buy This Book, is the best book ever. www.thejoelstein.com