Does Sleep Position Affect Your Health?

Surprising truths about tossing and turning

Robert Roy Britt
Elemental

--

A young woman is sleeping on her side in bed.
Photo by Gregory Pappas on Unsplash

LLike most people, Andrew Wellman changes his sleep position many times during the night. And like most people, he seldom realizes it. “The only time I know if I roll on my back is my wife elbows me because I start snoring,” says Wellman, director of the Sleep Disordered Breathing Lab in the Division of Sleep and Circadian Disorders at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston.

“A lot of my patients tell me they sleep on their side,” Wellman says. But when position sensors monitor them in the sleep lab, many self-professed side sleepers are on their backs up to 30% of the night, “and they didn’t know it.”

Sleep occurs in a repeated series of cycles, from light to deep to the phase called rapid eye movement (REM), when most dreams occur. We wake after each cycle, even if we don’t realize it.

“Everyone awakens throughout the night five to seven times, after each sleep cycle finishes, and then quickly returns to sleep, often with a brief movement, sometimes turning positions,” explains Shelby Harris, a psychologist and associate professor at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York City and the author of The Women’s Guide to Overcoming Insomnia.

--

--

Robert Roy Britt
Elemental

Editor of Aha! and Wise & Well on Medium + the Writer's Guide at writersguide.substack.com. Author of Make Sleep Your Superpower: amazon.com/dp/B0BJBYFQCB