My Strict Keto Diet Is Helping Me Through This

‘In the anxiety of this moment, I deeply appreciate the calm and resilience I’ve found since changing the way I eat.’

Alexandra Samuel
Elemental

--

Close up of unrecognizable woman cracking an egg for breakfast while putting it in a frying pan.
Photo: skynesher/E+/Getty Images

Normally, having an article of mine tweeted by Bernie Sanders would have been all I could talk about. But on the day it happened, my doctor told me something that made the career high pale in comparison: “I’ve never had any patient stay on a low-carb diet this long.”

That was six months ago; I’ve now passed the two-year mark as a strict adherent of the ketogenic diet. Originally used as a treatment for epilepsy, keto (as it’s commonly known) involves cutting out virtually all carbohydrates and instead eating a moderate-protein, high-fat diet so that your metabolism flips from burning carbohydrates to burning fat as its primary source of energy. And although it has required storing a daunting volume of bacon and beef in our pandemic prep freezer, the Covid-19 crisis has made me appreciate keto more than ever.

In the anxiety of this moment, I deeply appreciate the calm and resilience I’ve found since changing the way I eat.

What started as a weight loss practice has become much more about wellness. Even more than it’s…

--

--

Alexandra Samuel
Elemental

Speaker on hybrid & remote work. Author, Remote Inc. Contributor to Wall Street Journal & Harvard Business Review. https://AlexandraSamuel.com/newsletter