Social Media Is Messing With Our Memories

Research indicates smartphones, in particular, may impact what people remember down the line

Angela Lashbrook
Elemental

--

Illustration: Andrea Manzati

I remember, when I was fourteen years old, spending a few weeks at my aunt’s house in Humboldt County, CA, where my evenings were consumed by hours spent chatting with friends on AOL Instant Messenger. Some of those friendships would go on to become meaningful, defining aspects of my time spent in high school, while others faded away, united by little more than time zones and a similar taste in music.

But there is one thing all these online conversations had in common: I remember almost none of them.

I have no idea what we talked about. I scarcely remember anyone’s screen names, or even my own. What I do remember about that trip to Humboldt County was hanging out and laughing with my cousin, going out to the family’s favorite Mexican restaurant, hiking in the redwoods, and the evenings I spent offline, making collages from old magazines on my cousin’s bedroom floor.

Those forgotten IM nights may be an inkling of what is to come for the memories of millennials, Generation Z, and others younger than that, all raised essentially online and on their phones. For a number of reasons, researchers hypothesize, the time we spend interacting with…

--

--

Angela Lashbrook
Elemental

I’m a columnist for OneZero, where I write about the intersection of health & tech. Also seen at Elemental, The Atlantic, VICE, and Vox. Brooklyn, NY.