The Amazing Power of a Good Hike

Stressed? Exhausted? Depressed? Here’s a surefire way to clear your head and improve your health.

Robert Roy Britt
Elemental

--

Photo: massimo colombo/Getty Images

When anxiety sends my heart climbing into my throat, when motivation evaporates, when life makes no sense, I have a proven pick-me-up. I head to the nearest trail for a quick hike or, when time allows, drive to the mountains for a good, long trek. Without fail, the exercise, fresh air, and curative effects of nature itself combine to boost my mental mood and invigorate my body.

It’s not just me. There’s serious science to all this, and the positive effects build over time with repeated outings. Importantly, you’re never too old to begin accruing the physical and mental health benefits.

A mountain of research proves that simply walking at a brisk pace is a great way to improve well-being, lowering the risk of everything from depression to heart problems and upping the odds of a longer, healthier life. Hiking offers the added benefit of some uneven terrain that strengthens numerous small muscles in your legs and core that improve balance while forcing your mind to focus on each step rather than cogitating on life’s stressors.

--

--

Robert Roy Britt
Elemental

Editor of Aha! and Wise & Well on Medium + the Writer's Guide at writersguide.substack.com. Author of Make Sleep Your Superpower: amazon.com/dp/B0BJBYFQCB