The Grim Appeal of Diagnosing Yourself on the Internet

I’ve had three different mysterious chronic illnesses. Each time, the struggle to figure out what was wrong drove me further down the online rabbit hole.

Caira Conner
Elemental

--

Illustration by Jaedoo Lee

ItIt was easier to search at night when it was quiet. I kept up the ritual the way I kept an eye for dying leaves in my houseplants: focused on the excavation, with a sense of obligation but also a mild, almost pleasurable buzz.

On my computer, I could just drift for a while, letting the paragraphs soothe me as I scrolled. I sat cross-legged on the couch and skimmed through last night’s search history: blocks of text from the National Institutes of Health and MedicineNet and blood tests I’d checked on Lab Tests Online. I copied and pasted medical vocabulary from my hospital’s digital patient portal into my search bar, studying the associated conditions for positive antineutrophil cytoplasmic antibodies (ANCA) levels, looking up human leukocyte antigen (HLA) alleles with their corresponding suffixes, letting acronyms blend together into alphabet soup on the screen. Every combination of that day’s symptoms could be Googled. Every amalgamation of keywords led to a new landing page.

--

--

Caira Conner
Elemental

Previously international stuff @BuzzFeed. I laugh during my own jokes.