The Legacy of Tuskegee Complicates African Americans’ Feelings About Vaccines

A Black scientist’s plea to lean into the data, even as an unjust health care shadow persists in the U.S.

Jen Payne
Elemental

--

Photo: Marko Geber/Getty Images

I believe vaccinations are an important part of health maintenance. Every year, I get a flu vaccine and encourage my adult children to do the same. So, I was surprised when some of my friends and family members shared with me that they had no plans to take the vaccine for Covid-19 when and if it becomes available.

At least, they specified, they would not be the first in line.

Though my initial reaction was one of surprise, I realized this reluctance is part of a larger conversation — especially in the Black community. Initially, I was puzzled as to where this reluctance came from. As a scientist with a PhD in pathology who has worked in health care for more than 20 years, I tend to make decisions based on empirical data. However, as an African American woman, I have also come to appreciate the historical context of race and science.

--

--