The Remarkable Thing That Actually Freed Me Of Back Pain

My experience with the Egoscue Method

Piper Steele
Elemental

--

Credit: Roos Koole/Getty Images

I thought the yoga would work.

Or the acupuncture. I was really optimistic about the acupuncture.

Before that, I had high hopes for the physical therapy, hypnosis, new mattress, red light therapy, and special office chair.

It’s not that these remedies failed. Each offered some help — a brief respite from the searing low back pain that had come out of nowhere and attacked me. But none provided any lasting relief.

It was maddening.

I was a healthy person. I’d been active my whole life. Then one night, walking home from dinner, I felt a sharp pain in my lower back. The weather had turned cold suddenly, and I tensed as I walked faster to get to the car.

I barely managed to get myself to bed that night. Every movement brought a new kind of agony, the likes of which I’d never felt before.

--

--

Piper Steele
Elemental

Journalist/author/editor specializing in money, relationships, food and health. Fan of brunch, Stephen Colbert, heated car seats. Click follow ⬇