This 5-Second Relaxation Technique Is Strange, but It’s Proven

Forcing a smile and putting your hands out can calm you down. And there’s science to support that.

Luisa Colón
Elemental

--

Photo: Paper Boat Creative/Getty Images

MyMy head felt like it was about to explode. I was on a crowded subway train in New York City, homebound, with my child in tow. He was having a loud, epic temper tantrum. I had carried him down the subway steps, kicking and screaming, while also hauling our stroller. To top it off, I had a migraine. My head was pounding; my temper was rising. So I applied a skill I’d learned in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT).

I smiled.

It wasn’t a natural smile, it was a forced one. My lips were pursed, but I willed my mouth to stretch and turn up at the corners.

I also placed my hands in front of me, palms up, in a gesture of acceptance. I was doing what is known as “half-smile, willing hands,” a practice that can help encourage acceptance of your current situation and act as a distress tolerance skill. Believe it or not, it worked — I began to calm down.

The concept of “half-smile, willing hands” has become a staple of DBT. “All the DBT skills can come down to that principle, that you can change how you feel depending on how you behave,” says David H. Rosmarin, PhD, ABPP, founder and…

--

--

Luisa Colón
Elemental

Luisa Colón is a Brooklyn-based writer (BAD MOON RISING/2023, Cemetery Dance Publications), editor, and artist.