The Health Diaries

This CEO Is Convinced a Universal Healthy Diet Doesn’t Exist

‘What’s good for one person may not be good for another person’

Jenni Gritters
Elemental
Published in
4 min readApr 30, 2019

--

There are many ways to live a healthy life. The Health Diaries is a weekly series about the habits that keep notable people living well.

NNaveen Jain is an entrepreneur with a track record of starting companies like InfoSpace, World Innovation Institute, iNome, TalentWise, and Intelius. His one driving belief, which he’ll tell you about within moments of meeting you, is that our only limits come from our imagination.

His newest company, Viome, aims to do gut microbiome testing. Jain believes that by looking at people’s guts, scientists can build personalized action plans to fight chronic disease. He has raised $15 million in funding to support his new business.

This week, Jain tells Elemental about his obsession with reading new studies and his nontraditional view on the definition of health.

I generally get up around 4 a.m. every day. I have never in my life used an alarm clock. I jump out of bed because the light is so amazing. For me, I think that if you don’t jump out of bed at 4 a.m., you’re working on the wrong things in your life. Then I go downstairs and start with my…

--

--

Jenni Gritters
Elemental

I’m a writer and business coach for freelance creatives based in Central Oregon. I write about the psychology of small business ownership.