This Is the Single Easiest Way to Help During the Pandemic

I wear a mask to protect you. Will you wear one to protect me?

Dr Jeff Livingston
Elemental

--

Photo: NurPhoto/Getty Images

CCover your face. This is the new guidance from the scientific community. In addition to social distancing, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is now recommending all Americans wear a nonmedical face mask when out in public. Everyone should wear a face cover to slow the spread of the coronavirus.

Let’s be clear: The purpose of a mask is not to protect you from the virus. We wear it to prevent others from catching the virus from us. Face coverings are about protecting others.

Wearing a mask is not about protecting yourself. A face covering is now an act of kindness toward others.

My mask protects you. Your mask protects me.

After finishing a long hospital shift, I stopped by the grocery store to get food for my family. I donned a face mask. No one else in the store had one. I brought a few from our office to give to strangers. Some happily accepted them. Others declined. One brushed me off, flippantly stating, “I don’t need that.”

I wanted to respond, “Wear it for me, not for you.” Wearing a mask is not about…

--

--

Dr Jeff Livingston
Elemental

Obgyn, Husband, Father, & Entrepreneur. Writing about Women’s Health, Parenting, and Self-improvement. CEO of MacArthurmc.com & founder of Medika.life