My Healthy Quarantine Shopping List

One athlete’s list of pantry supplies to ensure healthy food choices if you’re in coronavirus lockdown

Richie Crowley
Elemental

--

Photo: YinYang/Getty Images

Follow Elemental’s ongoing coverage of the coronavirus outbreak here.

ItIt appears we all must prepare for the arrival of a pandemic if we haven’t already. So, what does preparation look like? One strongly recommended measure is to prepare to be self-reliant for meals and to anticipate possible food shortages.

To my mind, that means a healthy grocery list is in order.

Thinking through what this sort of list might look like, I dissected all the survival and emergency kits I could find. Most were filled with unhealthy foods. If we wind up on a lockdown due to coronavirus, we’ll already be in need of safeguarding our health. Why would we willingly make that task harder by making poor food choices? Ideally, we wouldn’t.

This grocery list has been adapted from what I ate as a professional athlete, and what fueled my self-supported 3,905-mile bicycle ride across the United States in 2019. There is no lack of nutrition here. I also considered shelf stability and broke the list into dry goods, perishables, and household necessities.

A Healthy Pandemic Grocery List

--

--

Richie Crowley
Elemental

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.