What Black People Need to Know About Vitamin D and Covid-19

Black people are more likely to suffer from severe Covid-19 and commonly have lower levels of vitamin D. Is there a connection?

Terri Huggins Hart
Elemental
Published in
6 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Photo: Grace Cary/Getty Images

Writer and producer Tyler Perry is by no means a health expert. But when he posted a video on Instagram in April discussing Black people, their likelihood of having low vitamin D levels, and the possible connection to Covid-19, it caught my attention. In the video, he said, “a lot of people who have died of Covid-19 were low in vitamin D.” And it turns out, one preliminary study from Northwestern University found a link between severe vitamin D deficiency and higher mortality rates.

I’ve always known that Black people were more likely to have low vitamin D levels, but I never gave it a second thought — until now. So naturally, as I was trying to determine whether or not I should pay attention to these levels and the purported risk association with Covid-19, I found myself spending my free time researching the topic and wondering if my family got enough sun or if we should be taking supplements.

Here’s what I found out.

Vitamin D doesn’t act like a typical vitamin. It’s an essential nutrient, which means the human body needs it but can’t make it on its own…

--

--

Terri Huggins Hart
Elemental

Leading with love in everything I do. Writing words about relationships, wellness and wealth. www.terrificwords.com