How Daily Exercise Became the Last Great Indulgence

Observations from a reluctant exerciser, in a pandemic

Nora Zelevansky
Elemental

--

Photo: Luis Alvarez/Getty Images

I have always been a sporadic exerciser. And, yes, that’s euphemistic. My periods of regular exercise historically come in fits and starts, then disappear as quickly as they arrive — replaced with dark chocolate and binge-watching.

In fact, years ago, I pitched and was hired to write a “reluctant exerciser” column for a popular women’s magazine, which wound up being a bit more reluctant than the editors had hoped. Sure enough, the stories quickly became about what lipgloss and cute headbands to wear while hiking, instead of about climbing mountains.

Most of the times when I’ve successfully maintained an exercise habit, it was at home: “Buns of Steel” (on VHS) in college, Tae Bo videos in my early twenties, runs around my residential Los Angeles neighborhood in my later twenties. There was a period of meeting my mother every Sunday at a local yoga studio, but that ritual also included the lure of brunch.

According to studies and anecdotal evidence, how we all approach movement has shifted dramatically since Covid-19 arrived.

--

--

Nora Zelevansky
Elemental

New novel: COMPETITIVE GRIEVING (Blackstone). New nonfiction: ROLL RED ROLL (Hachette ). Bylines: NY Times, T&C, WSJ etc. https://norazelevansky.com/