Test Gym

The Perfect Warm-Up, According to Science

In many cases, you want to do something that’s identical to the activity that follows, just at a lower intensity

Christie Aschwanden
Elemental
Published in
6 min readDec 8, 2020

--

Illustration: Maria Chimishkyan

My spouse and I are in perfect agreement that it’s good to start a run with a warm-up. But what that warm-up should consist of remains a point of contention between us. He likes to start by walking. I prefer to begin running at an easy pace. We usually compromise by walking for a few minutes, then breaking into a slow jog before settling into our running pace.

On one of our recent runs, I started thinking about warm-ups, and why we do them. It occurred to me that I’ve spent my entire athletic career assuming that warm-ups were important, but I never really understood why, what they were supposed to accomplish, or what the perfect warm-up entails. So, after more than two decades of being a serious athlete, I finally set out to learn the science behind warm-ups and what makes them effective. (And yes, I admit I was hoping to find evidence for my contention that it’s perfectly fine to warm up for a run by actually running, albeit at an easy pace.)

Increasing your body temperature helps to turn on metabolic enzymes

--

--

Christie Aschwanden
Elemental

Author of GOOD TO GO: What the Athlete in All of Us Can Learn from the Strange Science of Recovery (Norton, 2019). Twitter: @CragCrest christieaschwanden.com